IN Brief:
- Florent Gardens comprises 88 homes on land east of Shaw Lane, including 17 affordable properties across three tenure categories.
- Persimmon has committed solar panels and electric vehicle charging points for every dwelling.
- The development includes a three-metre-wide cycleway, links to St Mary’s CE Primary School and a £279,520 Community Infrastructure Levy contribution.
Persimmon Homes has started construction of Florent Gardens, an 88-home development on land east of Shaw Lane in Albrighton, Shropshire. The West Midlands division is delivering the project following approval of its detailed proposals earlier this year. The scheme includes 17 affordable homes, more than two acres of public open space, a three-metre-wide cycleway and a dedicated pedestrian link towards St Mary’s CE Primary School.
The new start on site represents a separate milestone from the planning decision announced in June. At that stage, Persimmon said outline permission was already in place and the detailed layout had received approval. The associated reserved matters application concerns matters such as appearance, landscaping, layout and scale under the earlier outline consent. Beginning construction demonstrates progression from an approved proposal towards physical delivery, although the developer has not specified which plots or infrastructure elements were the first to be worked on.
Florent Gardens will contain homes with two to four bedrooms, according to the developer’s plans. Seventeen properties will be provided through a combination of Affordable Rent, Shared Ownership and Discounted Market Sale. The announcement does not break down that total between the three tenure categories, so the 17 cannot be described collectively as social rented homes. Affordable properties are included within the 88-home total rather than being additional units outside the agreed site capacity.
Every home is due to have solar photovoltaic panels and an electric vehicle charging point as standard. The photovoltaic equipment will produce electricity when suitable daylight conditions are available, while domestic charging equipment brings an additional electrical demand into the home’s installation and connection arrangements. Persimmon has not disclosed the PV array capacities, charging power ratings, battery provision or predicted regulated energy use for the properties. These specifications establish equipment commitments without supporting a numerical estimate of energy savings or emissions reductions.
The site layout also allocates more than two acres for public open space and includes new walking and cycling links. Persimmon identifies a cycleway three metres wide and a separate pedestrian route to the primary school, alongside connections between the development and adjoining routes. Those features must be built into the estate’s highways, drainage, utility and landscaping programme rather than added solely at the point of home occupation. Details of the surfacing specification, adoption arrangements and exact delivery dates have not been released.
A £279,520 Community Infrastructure Levy contribution is to be made towards local services and infrastructure. CIL is a planning charge and should be distinguished from the cost of constructing the homes, roads and utilities within the development. The company has not disclosed an overall project value, identified a separate principal contractor, or provided the value of individual civil engineering and building packages. Those omissions prevent a reliable calculation of the development’s construction expenditure from the published announcement alone.
Developing the site requires coordination between housebuilding plots and shared infrastructure, particularly where utility trenches, foundations and drainage interact. Estate roads must carry construction vehicles before their final surfaces and pedestrian facilities are completed, while service connections need to reach occupied plots without interfering with work still under way elsewhere. Persimmon has not identified the drainage technique, ground improvement method or construction system selected for Florent Gardens, so the precise civil engineering sequence remains unconfirmed.
Electrical installation will form another coordination task as the dwellings progress. Roof-mounted photovoltaic panels require suitable mounting, cabling and means of isolation, while charging points have to be integrated with the home’s electrical distribution and available supply. Their final performance will depend on specified equipment, installation and commissioning. Neither the inclusion of panels nor the provision of a charger establishes that a home is energy self-sufficient or that its total electricity demand will be met on site.
The developer has not stated who will manage the two acres of shared public space after completion or when responsibility for its upkeep will transfer. Establishing those arrangements will involve the finished landscaping, surfaces and access routes as well as the boundaries between adopted infrastructure and privately maintained areas. No timetable for adoption or ongoing maintenance has been announced; these details cannot be inferred from the number of homes or the cycleway’s published width.
Elaine Brown, sales director at Persimmon Homes West Midlands, confirmed that work is under way and that the business expects to welcome prospective buyers to the scheme. No dates have been announced for the first completed homes or overall practical completion. The current confirmed development is the start of construction on the approved 88-home site, with affordable housing, walking and cycling connections, public space and household electrical equipment remaining part of the disclosed scope.


